Select Page


The Louisiana Outdoor Writers Association (LOWA) honored its members during the group’s 71st annual conference, Aug. 12-13, 2016 in Shreveport. The honorees were selected for awards in the association’s 2016 Excellence in Craft (EIC) competition.

The EIC contest, which recognizes excellence within various categories of outdoor-related communications, has been held continuously since 1945. Member entries for the 2016 competition were judged by members of the California and Florida Outdoor Writers Associations.

LOWA membership includes newspaper and magazine writers, editors, columnists, photographers, radio and television broadcast journalists, wildlife artists, internet journalists, book authors, videographers and public relations specialists. This year’s contest saw 12 members compete in seven different categories with 63 various entries being presented to the judges for consideration.

LOWA would like to thank the following EIC sponsors for their continued support of the contest:  the National Wild Turkey Federation, Louisiana Sportsman Magazine, the Louisiana Wildlife & Fisheries Foundation, the Louisiana Forestry Association, the Louisiana Association of Professional Biologists and the Louisiana Charter Boat Association.

The winners of the 2016 EIC competition by category:

Magazine Short Feature (less than 1000 words)

1st       Wendy Billiot      Muscadine—Fruit of the Vine

2nd      John Flores          Rabbit and Squirrel Hunting Basics-101 and 103

3rd       Terry Jones          The Chase Hunters


Magazine Regular Feature (greater than 1000 words)

1st       John Flores          Making Good on a Childhood Memory

2nd      Terry Jones          The Other Rut

3rd       John Flores          Jewel of the Flyway



1st       Keith Lusher         A Lesson Learned

2nd      Chris Holmes        Catfish Everdeen

3rd       Wendy Billiot       For the Birds


Broadcast (Radio or Television, of any length)

1st       Chris LeCoq          Paradise Louisiana-Reflections on the 10 Year Anniversary of

                                          Hurricane Katrina


2nd      Don Dubuc,          Hunt Fish Talk 08-15-15

2nd      Wendy Billiot

2nd      Lyle Johnson


3rd       Don Dubuc,          Hunt Fish Talk 12-19-15

3rd       Wendy Billiot

3rd       Lyle Johnson



1st       Wendy Billiot       Farm Alligator Returns

2nd      Wendy Billiot       Vibrio

3rd       John Flores            Youth Hunter Makes Most of Final Chance for Spring Turkey



1st       Donna Bush          Catch of the Day

2nd      John Flores            It Pays to Have A Good Friend

3rd       Chris Holmes        Mississippi Cat Yakin’



1st       Wendy Billiot       Regret the Egret

2nd      Ben Dupree           A Dying Way of Life

3rd       Ben Dupree           A Bit of Smoke




For additional information:

Vicki Holmes

EIC Chairman



2016 Excellence in Craft Award Winners

2016 EIC Award Winning Photos