Select Page


The Louisiana Outdoor Writers Association (LOWA) honored members during the group’s 66th annual conference on August 6, 2011 in Houma. The honorees were selected for awards in the association’s 2011 Excellence in Craft (EIC) competition.

The EIC contest, which recognizes excellence within eight categories of outdoor-related communications, has been held continuously since 1945. Member entries for the 2011 competition were judged by members of the Pennsylvania Outdoor Writers Association.

LOWA membership includes newspaper and magazine writers, editors, columnists, photographers, radio and television broadcast journalists, wildlife artists, internet journalists, book authors, videographers and public relations specialists.

Magazine Short Feature (less than 1000 words)

1st  John Flores, “The Blind View”

2nd James Guice, “The Young Hunter”

3rd Deborah Burst, “Flight of the Egret”

Co-Sponsors: Louisiana Forestry Association and Louisiana Association of Professional Biologists


Magazine Regular Feature (more than 1,000 words)

1st Jerald Horst, “Fish Under our Noses”

2nd Jerald Horst, “Hidden Talons”

3rd John Flores, “The Majestic Whooping Crane”

Co-Sponsors: Houma Area Convention & Visitors Bureau and Louisiana Charter Boat Association and


Newspaper Article

1st Glynn Harris, “‘I Can’t’, Not in Clay Dyer’s Vocabulary”

2nd John Flores, “Where the Wind Blows”

3rd John Flores, “Nighttime Operations”

Sponsor: Louisiana Sportsman Magazine


Broadcast (radio or television)

1st Glynn Harris, “Clay Dyer-No Quitter”

2nd Joe Macaluso and Gary Rispone, “Trinity Outdoors-Disabled Hunt”

3rd Glynn Harris, “Black and Blue Friday”

Sponsor: National Wild Turkey Federation – Louisiana Chapter


Electronic Media

1st Deborah Burst, “Paying Tribute to the Atchafalaya Basin”

2nd Lyle Johnson, “The Camp”

3rd David Moreland, “Outdoor Roots”

Sponsor: CCA Louisiana


Black and White Still Photograph

1st John Flores, “Pond-ering Around”

2nd John Flores, “Upland Pass”

3rd Jerald Horst, “Parasitic Isopod on Redfish”

Sponsor: B.A.S.S.–Bass Anglers Sportsman Society


Color Still Photograph

1st Jerald Horst, “How the Yellowfin Tuna got its Name”

2nd John Flores, “A Job Well Done”

3rd Paula Ouder, “Christopher Green”

Sponsor: Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Foundation


Topical Article on Coastal Wetland Protection/Restoration (more than 750 words)

1st Lyle Johnson, “Coastal Restoration:  Is There Hope?”

2nd Lyle Johnson, “This Used to be Paradise”

3rd Wendy Billiot, “Coastal Restoration:  Beating a Dead Horse?”

Sponsor: Coastal Wetland Planning, Protection and Restoration Act Outreach Committee


LOWA wishes to thank all of our sponsors for their generous support of the Excellence in Craft competition.

2011 Excellence in Craft Award Winning Photos